Cuba 2015 – 3rd Edition

November 26th – December 30th 2015
Center of Desarrollo de las Artes Visuales

On the occasion of the XVIII Week of Italian Culture in Cuba Havana 23 – 29 November 2015
In collaboration with: Italian Embassy in Havana, Center for Contemporary Art Wifredo Lam, Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Cuba, National Council of Plastic Arts, Centro de Desarrollo de las Artes Visuales

For some time now involved in a process of economic and social renewal, the Republic of Cuba is waiting for an epochal change that will coincide with the fall of the embargo. After 54 years, the United States and Cuba reestablish normal diplomatic relations with the reopening of the respective embassies. This will involve a whole series of transformations including an opening to the world on many, all points of view and it will no longer be possible not to give the right value to the many answers in which this great people will want to be accomplices.

For this reason, the Maretti Prize, on the occasion of the Italian Culture Week in Havana decided to “export” the famous characteristics of its Prize on the largest island of the Antilles, in collaboration with: the Italian Embassy in Havana , Ambassador Carmine Robustelli, the Center for Contemporary Art Wifredo Lam – in the figure of his Director Jorge Fernández Torres, the Ministry of Culture of the Republic of Cuba in the person of Deputy Minister Fernando Rojas. The attention that in these places becomes more and more tangible for our cultural history in its many facets, has given inspiration to the organizers of the Italian appointment to widen the horizons, involving Cuban artists and curators to diversify the purposes of knowledge in the context of a deeper look towards differences and individualities. The National Jury of the Maretti Cuba Award elected for the year 2015 sees the curators Laura Cherubini, Eugenio Viola, Giacomo Zaza collaborating during that week with the Cuban one – Dayalis González Perdomo, Jorge Fernández Torres and Caridad Blanco de la Cruz, to name among 12 artists in total participated two winners (one Italian and one Cuban) and consequently deliver two “monographic” awards.
The location chosen for this edition is a space of unusual charm and peculiar characteristics to welcome the participants: the Centro de Desarrollo de las Artes Visuales (CDAV). Founded in 1989, this center for art is an organization dedicated to the promotion and research of contemporary Cuban visual arts.

Caridad Blanco de la Cruz
Laura Cherubini Jorge Fernández Torres
Dayalis González Perdomo
Eugenio Viola
Giacomo Zaza

Artists invited
Diego Cibelli
Fabrizio Cotognini
Pamela Diamante
Giulio Frigo
Leslie García y Carlos González
Orestes Hernández
Roberto Marchese
Levi Orta
Mabel Poulet
Milton Raggi
Gian Maria Tosatti
Rafael Villares

Tribute to: Pizzi Cannella. On display at the Biblioteca Nacional de Cuba José Martí “Galeria El Reino de Este Mundo”